Authorology Lab: Book Spine Poetry

by Lana Krumwiede

Prepare yourself for poetry with backbone! Book spine poetry, that is. I’m sorry to say I didn’t invent it; I’m not sure who did. I was first introduced to book spine poetry by Travis Jonker at 100 Scope Notes.

I started by looking through my personal library for book titles that had nice imagery. Each title chosen acts as a line in the poem. Because titles are meant to be evocative, many of them will work nicely as a line of poetry. I pulled out a few books and started thinking about which phrases seemed to go together. Next, I stacked up the groups of books with the spines facing the same way and did some rearranging until I found something I liked.  The last step was to take a picture and . . .

bookpoem1

Here’s another one…

bookpoem2

 

bookpoem3

Once I got started, I couldn’t stop! Because I have a lot of writing books, it was easy to create a book spine poem about being a writer…

 

My daughter and I had a great time making book spine poems from our home library. This would be a super fun activity for a public library, too. Try it!

Leave a Reply

